happily, katie

when things get squiggly.

Lately it feels like there just aren’t enough hours in the day – or maybe that my head just isn’t sophisticated enough to manage all the things I have got to do. It feels like this photo I took last week:

(I had laid the spagetti back in the still-hot-pot after cooking it – oops!)

To manage with it all I have been trying to stay positive by getting up at the beginning of the day and starting everything as I come to it. I have started reading the bible again, having slowly and unintentionally drifted away from the habit of quietly contemplating what it has to say and the impact it may have on how I live. Thankfully, no matter how inconsistent and doubtful I can be, God remains faithful. How important it is to trust Him!

Writing this now, I am aware of how little time I spend verbally acknowledging my belief that He is ultimate and supreme over every aspect of our lives. This is probably due to the fact that saying it requires a level of certainty and strength of purpose that I haven’t had recently; claiming something so strong is a hard thing to do in the face of doubt, worry and insecurity. In spite of this, no matter how small and insignificant I feel, He remains faithful: “a bruised reed he will not break, and a smouldering wick he will not snuff out” (Isaiah 42:3).

This feels like the right place to start from and, thankfully, it means that I don’t have to rely on my strength alone. (phewphf!)

This entry was published on August 16, 2010 at 1:40 pm and is filed under all and in between, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

