happily, katie

a peaceful sunday

The air is fresh and fragrant, and the sky is bright and blue through the window. It is peaceful, and I feel hopeful. This morning J and I had our weekly pre-church coffee ritual with his parents and then went to an op-shop close by. Here are some of the spoils:

I’m not sure what I’ll use this (doona cover) for yet, but everytime I saw it in the shop I really wanted to buy it. It is slightly daggy as a doona cover, but I think it might look lovely as something else…

.

I think this fabric might make for some nice cushions?

.

When we were getting home, I picked a flower from a plant that I had been admiring all week. It was only as I picked it that I noticed its succulent leaves and glossy petals, like something you might find by the sea. I took some photos of it, and then put it in a glass on J’s desk for him to look at while he gets ready to head back to work tomorrow.

.


Sometimes when I look at how intricate things like flowers are, I wonder at how God is able to keep everything in perfect balance: even the flowers are growing, gracing us with their beauty, while all at once everything is moving, changing, dying and being made.
This entry was published on October 10, 2010 at 12:24 pm and is filed under all and in between, DIY pretty, eco-chic. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

