happily, katie

tasting the persimmon.

Over the past few weeks I have been seeing these fruits in the produce section. I was intrigued by them because the sign said that you can bite into them like an apple, but they look so much like some rustic breed of tomato. So I bought some. Three for two dollars.

“do I just bite into it?” I asked Josh. “maybe cut them up” he said, “that’s what I’d do with a new food”

So I cut one up. It smelt a bit yucky to be honest, but I took a small bite.

“hmm…” I thought as I tasted the nibble; the taste is sweet, but strange. It almost tastes like rockmelon, but the smell that lingers is quite off putting.

So I placed the portions in a small dish with some brown sugar, mixed berries and jam. I baked them in the oven for about 1/2 an hour.

It looks quite a bit more delicious here than it actually tasted – like sugar and jam and no longer like anything else. Perhaps if I had some cream it might have been more successful. In any case, I have two more to work with so stay tuned for a post on “how to eat a persimmon without feeling ill”. (do you know how?)

This entry was published on June 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm and is filed under all and in between. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

