happily, katie

Get organised for Christmas: Week One, construct a gantt chart

This week’s challenge is to determine your goals:

1. Write a list. You might have a clear idea of the things you want to get done: or, if you’re like me, you might need to carry a notebook around with you in order to catch each thought as you have it. (for this reason, I love the idea of this book)

2. Think about how achievable these goals might be and about how important they are to you. I tend to err on the side of idealism: wearing myself out with high expectations of what I can achieve. I have learnt that it is ok to have these big dreams, as long as I can remember to embrace a little chaos, take a slow walk with my husband and let go of the plans that I make and remake in my head, knowing… it can all be picked up again tomorrow. (Goals I have set for myself include: cleaning and organising the spare room, planning a Christmas party and making Christmas stockings.)

3. decide when you’ll start and finish each goal.

4. Mark it on the spreadsheet, and you have yourself a gantt chart.

Ta da!

download the excel file here.

p.s. The happily, Katie Challenges have been left blank since they will be revealed each week as a surprise. Stay tuned for next week’s challenge!

This entry was published on October 19, 2011 at 8:52 pm and is filed under all and in between, Get Organised for Christmas Challenge, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Get organised for Christmas: Week One, construct a gantt chart

  1. Pingback: Get organised for Christmas: week 7, decorate and detoxify « happily katie

Leave a Reply

